An Act Creating the Municipality of Bien Unido in the Province of Bohol

Section 1. Barangays Bien Unido, Tuboran, Mandawa, Nueva Estrella, Nueva Esperanza, Puerto San Pedro, Sagasa, Pinamgo, Bilangbilangan Daku, Bilangbilangan Diyot, Hingotanan, Maomaoan, and Malingin; the islands of Cabantulan and Macaina; and the shoals of Dunggoan Daku. Dunggoan Gamay, and Labongan, all in the Municipality of Talibon; and Barangay Liberty in the Municipality of Trinidad, all in the Province of Bohol, are hereby separated from said municipalities and constituted into an independent and distinct municipality, to be known as the Municipality of Bien Unido, Province of Bohol.

Section 2. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay Bien Unido.

Section 3. The new municipality of Bien Unido shall be bounded as follows:

"From the intersection of Cambanha Creek, Nueva Esperanza, Talibon and Ipil River (point 1), thence N 13-00 E., 1,650 m. to point 2; thence N 18-45 E., 4,700 m. to point 3; thence N 72-00 E., 1,000 m. to point 4 (mouth of Suba River); thence N 62-45 E., 650 m. to point 5; thence N 45-00 E., 800 m. to point 6 (source of Suba River); thence N 22-45 E., 17,800) m. to point 7; thence N 20-30 E,. 2,500 m. to point 8; thence S 66-30 E,. 15,750 m. to point 9; thence S 43-30 W., 21,250 m. to point 10; thence S 54-00 W., 7,450 m. to point 11; thence S 3-30 W., 600 m. to point 12 (Atuay Creek, Liberty, Trinidad); thence S 86-00 W., 3,500 m. to point 13 (stock); thence N 58-00 W., 967 m. to point 14 (Nacon Hill); thence N 85-00 W., 1,650 m. to point 1, point of beginning (Cambanha Creek), with an approximate total area of 30,885.00 hectares."

Section 4. The new Municipality of Bien Unido shall begin to exist only after approval by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the barangays enumerated under Section one hereof by the Commission on Elections, within one hundred and twenty (120) days from the approval of this Act. The expenses for such plebiscite shall be paid out of appropriations provided for by the local government unit concerned.1‚wphi1

Section 5. Except as herein provided, all laws, now or hereafter applicable to regular municipalities, shall be applicable to the new Municipality of Bien Unido.

Section 6. The first officials of the newly created municipality shall be appointed by the President (Prime Minister) and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified. Such appointive officials and employees as may be necessary to organize and complete the government machinery of the municipality herein created shall be appointed as provided by law.

Section 7. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: December 24, 1980

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation