An Act Creating the Municipality of Baliguian in the Province of Zamboanga Del Norte

Section 1. There shall be created in the Municipality of Baliguian in the Province of Zamboanga del Norte, out of the northern barangays of the Municipality of Siocon, Zamboanga del Norte, namely: Baliguian, Milidan, Alegria, Diculum, Kauswagan, San Jose, Nunuyan, and the sitios of Mamad, Diangas, Tidas, Linay, Balaboan, Balobok, Tamao, Siasi, Micubol, Mamawan, and Bangaan.

Section 2. The seat of the Municipal Government shall be in Barangay Baliguian.

Section 3. The technical description of the territorial jurisdiction of the Municipality of Baliguian shall be, beginning from the intersection of the shoreline and latitude seven degrees and forty-seven minutes (7 47′); thence southeast in straight line until it reaches the intersection of latitude seven degrees and forty-five minutes (7 45′) and Siocon River; thence, due east until it reaches the provincial boundary between Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur; thence, following the said provincial boundary northward until it reaches the existing municipal boundary between Siocon and Labason; thence, following the said municipal boundary northwest until it reaches the shoreline; thence, following the shoreline southward until it intersects latitude seven degrees and forty-seven minutes (7 47′), the point of beginning.

Section 4. The municipal government officials of the Municipality of Baliguian, their qualifications and salaries, emoluments, compensations and/or allowances shall be those provided for and fixed by existing laws. Appointments of appointive municipal officials shall be governed by existing laws.

Section 5. After ratification by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in all the barangays to be constituted into the new municipality and within a period of ninety days after the approval of this Act, the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the first mayor and other officials of the Municipality of Baliguian. Expenses for the plebiscite shall be borne by the provincial and municipal government concerned.

Section 6. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: December 27, 1980

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation