An Act Creating the Municipality of Pagsanjan in the Province of Samar

Section 1. Barangays Pagsanghan, Bangon, Buenos Aires, Calanyugan, Cambaye, Caloloma, Pange, San Luis, and Villahermosa, all of the Municipality of Taranghan, Province of Samar, are hereby separated therefrom to form and constitute a distinct and independent municipality, which is hereby created, to be known as the Municipality of Pagsanghan. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be at Barangay Pagsanghan.

Section 2. Except hereinafter provided, all laws, now or hereafter applicable to regular municipalities, shall be applicable to the new Municipality of Pagsanghan.

Section 3. The Municipality of Pagsanghan shall become existent upon the ratification by majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the present Municipality of Tarangan within a period of sixty days after approval of this Act, after which the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the mayor and other officials are provided for under existing laws.

The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite.1‚wphi1 The expenses for such plebiscite shall be paid out of the appropriations provided under the General Appropriations Act for the Commission on Elections.

Section 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: February 9, 1979

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation