H. No. 10643 S. No. 729

## REPUBLIC ACT No. 7901

## AN ACT CREATING REGION XIII TO BE KNOWN AS THE CARAGA ADMINISTRATIVE REGION, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, and the cities of Butuan and Surigao are hereby constituted to form Region XIII to be known as the Caraga Region.

- SEC. 2. The regional center of the Caraga Region shall be established in Butuan City where the national offices shall be located except for the Bureau of Mines and the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, which shall be situated in Surigao City, and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, which shall be situated in Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur.
- SEC. 3. As a result of the transfer of Surigao del Sur to Region XIII, the Province of Sultan Kudarat shall now form part of Region XI.
- $\,$  Sec. 4. The same privileges under the rules and regulations covering regions shall remain in force.
- SEC. 5. All laws, decrees, orders, rules and regulations or parts thereof inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed or amended accordingly.
- SEC. 6. Should any part of this Act be declared unconstitutional or invalid, such declaration of unconstitutionality or invalidity shall not affect the other provisions hereof.
  - SEC. 7. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, February 23, 1995.