-----

www.congress.gov.ph

\_\_\_\_\_

LAWNUM: RA07173
DATE : 01/13/92

TITLE : AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF ASIPULO IN THE PROVINCE

OF

IFUGAO

TEXT :

H. No. 22190

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Fifth Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-second day of July, nineteen hundred and ninety-one.

[REPUBLIC ACT No. 07173]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF ASIPULO IN THE PROVINCE OF IFUGAO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Barangays of Amduntog, Antipolo, Camandag, Cawayan, Pula, Hallap, Panubtuban, Namal and Nungawa in the Municipality of Kiangan, Province of Ifugao, are hereby separated from said municipality and constituted into a new municipality to be known as the Municipality of Asipulo.

- SEC. 2. The seat of the government of the new municipality shall be in a suitable government center site located between the Barangays of Amduntog and Antipolo.
- SEC. 3. The technical description and relative boundaries of the proposed municipality are as follows: starting at a point at Nunhipok River between Barangays Panopdopan, Lamut, Ifugao and Haliap, Kiangan, Ifugao, following the river upstream towards the West between Barangays Haliap and Duit of Kiangan, Ifugao; then following the creek between Barangays Duit and Nungawa of Kiangan, Ifugao, to the ridge of the mountain between Barangays Julongan and Nungawa, Kiangan, Ifugao. Then tracing an imaginary line along the boundary of the Municipalities of Kiangan and Tinoc, both of the Province of Ifugao; then to the provincial boundary of Nueva Vizcaya and Ifugao. From this point, following the river between the Municipality of Ambagio, Nueva Vizcaya, and

Sitio Ammoeg, Camandag, of the proposed municipality, following the ridge of the mountain between Villaverde, Municipality of Nueva Vizcaya and the proposed municipality; following the boundary of the Municipality of Lamut, Ifugao, and the proposed municipality, then back to the starting point.

- SEC. 4. After ratification by a majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the areas affected within a period of one hundred eighty (180) days from the approval of this Act, the first mayor, vice-mayor, and members of the sangguniang bayan of the new municipality shall be elected in the next regular election of local officials. The new municipality shall be considered duly organized upon the assuniption of office of the first set of elected local officials.
- SEC. 5. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite. The expenses in holding the plebiscite shall be taken out of the Contingent Fund under the current fiscal year appropriations.
- SEC. 6. This Act shall take effect upon its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

JOVITO R. SALONGA

RAMON V.

MITRA

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on December 11, 1991 and December 9, 1991, respectively.

EDWIN P. ACOBA

CAMILO L.

SABIO

Secretary of the Senate

Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved: January 13, 1992

CORAZON C. AQUINO President of the Philippines