An Act Creating the Municipality of Bacungan in the Province of Zamboanga Del Norte

Section 1. The creation of the municipality. There shall be created the Municipality of Bacungan in the Province of Zamboanga del Norte, out of the southwestern barangays of the Municipality of Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte, namely: Talinga, Bacungan, Manil, Bogabongan, Sipacong, Titik, Mangup, Mawal, Tinaplan, Rizon, Tinuyop, Morong, Diluson, Tiniguiban, Siongan, Nacibag, and Sta. Maria.

Section 2. The seat of the municipal government. The seat of the municipal government of the Municipality of Bacungan shall be in Barangay Bacungan.1awp++i1

Section 3. The technical description of its territory. The technical description of the territorial jurisdiction of the Municipality of Bacungan shall be: beginning from the mouth of Talinga River; thence following Talinga River upstream until it reaches the confluence of Talinga River and Dito Creek; thence southeast in straight line until it reaches Monument No. 10 of the logging area of Vic Lumber Company which is also a common Monument Mark No. 9 of Mindanao Estate Corporation located at longitude on hundred twenty- two degrees, fifty-eight minutes and forty seconds (122 58′ 40″) and latitude eight degrees, six minutes and forty seconds (80 6′ 40″); thence due south until it intersects the provincial boundary of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, thence following the provincial boundary of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur westward until it intersects Polandoc, River, thence following Polandoc River down-stream until it reaches the shoreline; thence following the shoreline eastward unit it reaches the mouth of Talinga River, the point of beginning.

Section 4. The municipal government officials, their qualifications and salaries. After ratification by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the area or areas affected and within a period of one hundred twenty days after the approval of this Act, the President shall appoint the mayor, the vice mayor and the members of the sangguniang bayan of the new Municipality of Bacungan, who shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the next general elections for local officials.

The qualifications and compensation of the municipal officials shall be governed by existing laws.

Section 5. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite which shall be held within one hundred and twenty days from the approval of this Act. The expenses for the holding of such plebiscite shall be charged to local funds.

Section 6. Effectivity. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: March 25, 1982

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation