An Act Creating the Municipality of Don Marcelino, Province of Davao Del Sur

Section 1. The barangays of Talagutong, Lawa, Nueva Villa, Calian, Lamidan, and Kiobog, all in the Municipality of Malita, Province of Davao de Sur, are hereby separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent Municipality of Don Marcelino. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay Lawa.

Section 2. The boundaries of the new Municipality of Don Marcelino shall be: Beginning from Triangulation Station Malo, located at Bisang within the proposed Municipality of Ticulon, being north 57 degrees 45 minutes east, 250 meters to point 1, along the shoreline of Davao Gulf; thence south-southeast of general direction, 37,200 meters following the shoreline passing Galapi point, Cabo-Cabo point, Cabalogo point, Baca-Baca point, Candol point, Tatantangan point, Bigi point, Caulipan point proceeding south-southeast of general direction, passing through Lumabat point, Lasagan point, Calian point, Masusid point, Bantas point, Lanipao point, Lisadasan point, Socabus point, Lawayon point to point 2, located at the junction of Lawayon river and Davao Gulf; then due west, 19,700 meters to point 3, intersecting divide-line (Davao del Sur-South Cotabato provincial boundary); thence north-northwest of general direction, 11,400 meters following divide-line to point 4, intersection with the proposed Municipality of Ticulon boundary line; thence north, 64 degrees 45 minutes east, 6,870 meters to point 5, intersection with the proposed Municipality of Ticulon boundary line; thence north, 6 degrees 45 minutes west, 10,220 meters to point 6, intersection with boundary lines of the proposed Municipality of Ticulon near Batauan, thence north, 47 degrees 30 minutes east, 6,990 meters to point 7, at Kibugas; thence north, 11 degrees 30 minutes east, 2,070 meters to point 8, at Mt. Lasubong, thence north 23 degrees 45 minutes east, 2,550 meters to point 9; and thence north, 57 degrees 45 minutes east, 1,500 meters to point 1, point of beginning, containing an approximate area of 40,640 hectares.1‚wphi1

Section 3. After ratification by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the areas affected in the present Municipality of Malita within the period of ninety (90) days after the approval of this Act, the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the Mayor and other officials to hold elective positions in the new Municipality of Don Marcelino.

Section 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: December 19, 1979

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation