An Act Creating the Municipality of Gutalac, Province of Zamboanga Del Norte

Section 1. The Name of the Municipality - There shall be created the Municipality of Gutalac, Province of Zamboanga del Norte, out of the western barangays of the Municipality of Labason, Zamboanga del Norte, namely: Gutalac, La Libertad, Lux, Bonganon, Sibalic, Panganuran, Tipan, Kanapon, Pitawi, and Mamawan, The seat of the Municipal Government shall be in Barangay Gutalac.

Section 2. The Technical Description of the Municipal Territory - The technical description of the territorial jurisdiction of the Municipality of Gutalac, shall be, beginning from the mouth of Quipit River thence following Quipit River upstream until it reaches the existing boundary between the Municipalities of Labason and Siocon until it reaches the shoreline; thence following the shoreline on the northeastern direction until it reaches the mouth of Quipit River, the point of beginning. (Technical Description part of the record.)

Section 3. The Municipal Government Officials, their qualifications and salaries - The Municipal Government Officials of Gutalac, their qualifications and salaries, emoluments or compensation shall be those provided for and fixed by existing law.1‚wphi1

Section 4. Appointment of Municipal Government Officials - After ratification by the majority of votes cast in plebiscite to be conducted in the area or areas affected within a period of ninety days after the approval of this Act, the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the Mayor and other officials of the new Municipality of Gutalac.

Section 5. Effectivity - This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: March 6, 1979

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation