

Republic of the Philippines Supreme Court Manila

EN BANC

NOTICE

Sirs/Mesdames:

Please take notice that the Court en banc issued a Resolution dated FEBRUARY 21, 2017, which reads as follows:

"G.R. No. 228588 (Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, San Beda College Alabang, Inc., Ateneo de Manila University, and Riverbanks Development Corporation v. Department of Energy, Hon. Alfonso G. Cusi, in his official capacity as Secretary of the Department of Energy, Energy Regulatory Commission, Hon. Jose Vicente B. Salazar, in his official capacity as Chairperson of the Energy Regulatory Commission, and Hon. Alfredo J. Non, Hon. Gloria Victoria C. Yap-Taruc, Hon. Josefina Patricia M. Asirit, and Hon. Geronimo D. Sta. Ana, in their official capacities as incumbent Commissioners of the Energy Regulatory Commission) - Acting on the prayer for the issuance of a status quo ante order or temporary restraining order and/or writ of preliminary injunction filed by petitioners Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, San Beda College Alabang, Inc., Ateneo De Manila University, and Riverbanks Development Corporation, this Court resolves to ISSUE A TEMPORARY **RESTRAINING ORDER**, effective immediately and continuing until further orders from this Court, enjoining respondents Department of Energy and the Energy Regulatory Commission, its agents, representatives, and all persons acting in their place or stead from implementing Department of Energy Circular No. DC2015-06-0010, Series of 2015, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 5, Series of 2016, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 10, Series of 2016, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 11, Series of 2016, and Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 28, Series of 2016." Sereno, C.J. and Carpio, J., no part. Reyes, J., on official leave. (adv63)

E)Uír

Very truly yours,

1 Junpan-f FELIPA B. ANAMA Clerk of Court

Notice of Resolution

.

- 2 -

G.R. No. 228588 February 21, 2017

ATTYS. SIMEON V. MARCELO, RODEL A. CRUZ, JON ANTON DARYL Y. CHUA, NORVIN RALPH S. JALIPA and ERICA CHRISTEL S. PATIÑO (x) Cruz Marcelo & Tenefrancia Counsel for Petitioners 9th, 10th, 11th & 12th Floors, One Orion 11th Avenue corner University Parkway Bonifacio Global City 1634, Taguig City

G.R. No. 228588 kat 2/21/17 (adv63) 2/22/17 Chairperson JOSE VICENTE B. SALAZAR (x) Commissioner ALFREDO J. NON (x) Commissioner GLORIA VICTORIA C. YAP-TARUC (x) Commissioner JOSEFINA PATRICIA M. ASIRIT (x) Commissioner GERONIMO D. STA. ANA (x) Energy Regulatory Commission Pacific Center Building, San Miguel Avenue Ortigas Center, Pasig City

Secretary ALFONSO G. CUSI (x) Department of Energy Energy Center, Rizal Drive Bonifacio Global City Taguig City

THE SOLICITOR GENERAL (x) 134 Amorsolo St., Legaspi Village Makati City

Mt-Norgon-prove



Republic of the Philippines Supreme Court Manila

EN BANC

PHILIPPINE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY, SAN BEDA COLLEGE ALABANG, INC., ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY and RIVERBANKS DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

G.R. No. 228588

- versus -

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY, HON. ALFONSO G. CUSI, in his official capacity as Secretary of the Department of Energy, ENERGY **REGULATORY COMMISSION,** HON. JOSE VICENTE В. SALAZAR, in his official capacity as Chairperson of the Energy Regulatory Commission, and HON. ALFREDO J. NON, HON. GLORIA VICTORIA C. YAP-HON. **JOSEFINA** TARUC, PATRICIA M. ASIRIT and HON. GERONIMO D. STA. ANA, in their official capacities as incumbent Commissioners of the Energy Regulatory Commission, Respondents.

X-----X

TO: **DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY**, represented by HON. ALFONSO G. CUSI (x)

Jet Myon themas

Temporary Restraining Order

Energy Center, Rizal Drive Bonifacio Global City Taguig, Metro Manila

ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, represented by CHARPERSON JOSE VICENTE B. SALAZAR (x) COMMISSIONER ALFREDO J. NON (x) COMMISSIONER GLORIA VICTORIA C. YAP-TARUC (x) COMMISSIONER JOSEFINA PATRICIA M. ASIRIT (x) COMMISSIONER HON. GERONIMO D. STA. ANA (x) Pacific Center Building San Miguel Avenue, Ortigas Center Pasig, Metro Manila

GREETINGS:

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court, on February 21, 2017, adopted a resolution in the above-entitled case, to wit:

"G.R. No. 228588 (Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, San Beda College Alabang, Inc., Ateneo de Manila University, and Riverbanks Development Corporation v. Department of Energy, Hon. Alfonso G. Cusi, in his official capacity as Secretary of the Department of Energy, Energy Regulatory Commission, Hon. Jose Vicente B. Salazar, in his official capacity as Chairperson of the Energy Regulatory Commission, and Hon. Alfredo J. Non, Hon. Gloria Victoria C. Yap-Taruc, Hon. Josefina Patricia M. Asirit, and Hon. Geronimo D. Sta. Ana, in their official capacities as incumbent Commissioners of the Energy Regulatory Commission) - Acting on the prayer for the issuance of a status quo ante order or temporary restraining order and/or writ of preliminary injunction filed by petitioners Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, San Beda College Alabang, Inc., Ateneo De Manila University, and Riverbanks Development Corporation, this Court resolves to ISSUE A TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER, effective immediately and continuing until further orders from this Court, enjoining respondents Department of Energy and the Energy Regulatory Commission, its agents, representatives, and all persons acting in their place or stead from implementing Department of Energy Circular No. DC2015-06-0010, Series of 2015, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 5, Series of 2016, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 10, Series of 2016, Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 11, Series of 2016, and Energy Regulatory Commission Resolution No. 28, Series of 2016." Sereno, C.J. and Carpio, J., no part. Reyes, J., on official leave. (adv63)

NOW, THEREFORE, effective immediately and continuing until further orders from this Court, You, respondents Department of Energy

7eg to Mgon trans

(DOE), DOE Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi, Energy Regulatory Commission [ERC], ERC Chairperson Jose Vicente B. Salazar and ERC Commissioners Alfredo J. Non, Gloria Victoria C. Yap-Taruc, Josefina Patricia M. Asirit and Geronimo D. Sta. Ana, your agents, representatives, or persons acting in your place or stead, are hereby **ENJOINED** from implementing and enforcing DOE Circular No. DC2015-06-0010, Series of 2015, ERC Resolution No. 5, Series of 2016, ERC Resolution No. 10, Series of 2016, ERC Resolution No. 11, Series of 2016, and ERC Resolution No. 28, Series of 2016.

GIVEN by the Supreme Court of the Philippines, this 21st day of February 2017.

po plagon - fronce FELIPA B. ANAMA Clerk of Court

Copy furnished:

Office of the Solicitor General (x) 134 Amorsolo Street Legaspi Village, 1229 Makati City

- 4 -

G.R. No. 228588 February 21, 2017 (TRO)

ATTYS. SIMEON V. MARCELO, RODEL A. CRUZ, JON ANTON DARYL Y. CHUA, NORVIN RALPH S. JALIPA and ERICA CHRISTEL S. PATIÑO (x) Cruz Marcelo & Tenefrancia Counsel for Petitioners 9th, 10th, 11th & 12th Floors, One Orion 11th Avenue corner University Parkway Bonifacio Global City 1634, Taguig City

G.R. No. 228588 kat 2/21/17 (TRO) 2/22/17

Je prologon - from